Diversity Council


  • To provide a forum where representatives from various segments of the University community can come together to discuss and consider forward-looking, proactive strategies, methods, and approaches that will help to make U.Va a more diverse and welcoming environment at all levels;
  • To create a setting in which representatives can present diversity-related issues and considerations that are occurring either within their own administrative unit, or within other areas that they have either knowledge about or interest in; and
  • To review information and materials that are intended to enhance and celebrate diversity that are being used or discussed in other higher education institutions, or in other settings, to determine whether they might have any applicability to U.Va.


Area/Office Member
President's Office Cecil Banks
Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost Jennie Knight
Provost Employee Council Margaret "Peggy" Dame
Senior Vice President for Development and Public Affairs Michelle Packer
Office of University Communications Carolyn Dillard
Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the Medical Center Veronica Ford
Vice President for Research Keisha John
Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer Melissa Frederick
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Gary Nimax
Vice President for Management and Budget Jack King
Office of Information Technology and Communication Toni Hash
Vice President and Chief Student Affairs Officer Tabitha Enoch
University Career Services Christie Julien
School of Architecture Cindy Kiefer
Contemplative Sciences Center Juliet Trail
Darden Graduate School of Business Administration Zakiah Pierre
McIntire School of Commerce Rebecca Leonard
Curry School of Education Jessica Livingston
School of Continuing and Professional Studies Maria Chee
School of Engineering and Applied Science John F. Gates
School of Law Kathryn Duvall
School of Medicine Leah Beard
School of Nursing Susan Kools
Office of Admissions Valerie Gregory
Athletics Adrien Harraway
Office of the Dean of Students Vicki Gist
Facilities Management Caitlin Murtaugh
University Police Matthew McBee
Office for Equal Opportunity and Civil Rights Rachel Spraker
Nicole Thompson
Faculty Senate George Mentore
General Faculty Council Derick Williams
University Libraries Phylissa Mitchell
Women's Center Jaronda Miller- Bryant
Miller Center Andrew Chancey
Student Disability Access Center Jennifer Uber
Student Representative Natalie Romero